Request Consultation

Richard Nachwalter, MD Testimonials

“Dr. Nachwalter did a wonderful job. My severe leg pain was relieved right after surgery. He explained in detail what was done during the surgery. He even called a few days later to see how I was. Staff was excellent. Lily, Debbie and Melissa. Thank you. I would highly recommend Dr. Nachwalter”

Margaret F.

“I was referred to Dr. Nachwalter from a co-worker. I had cervical fusion in 2015 from another doctor, and for two years after my symptoms worsened. I had excruciating pain and my life was on hold. Dr. Nachwalter gave it back to me. Day one post-surgery I felt relief, the pain was mostly gone and I could swallow. My voice returned for the first time in 18 mos. I’m very happy with my recovery. The post-op pain was manageable with Tylenol. The office staff is really great too.”

Grace, Healthgrades.com User

“Dr. Nachwalter is compassionate and the best back surgeon in NJ. I was hesitant about lumbar laminectomy surgery, but all conservative treatment failed. Dr. Nachwalter explained the procedure thoroughly, answered all my questions and returned my phone calls as I was anxious about the surgery. Back surgery is complicated and only a top-notch, highly skilled surgeon like Dr. Nachwalter should be your first choice. He works out of Morristown Medical Center, another important point: clean and 5 star.”

Healthgrades.com User

“After visiting another ER department (in another city) the previous week and being told nothing was wrong I knew I needed to keep persuing another doctor who would listen to me. I was able to get an appt with Dr. Nachwalter quickly and he immediately detected an issue by reading the MRI films himself and NOT relying on the radiologists diagnosis (which was very wrong). I was admitted to Morristown hospital that day and surgery the next. At all times I was able to follow the doctors’ concerns and possible issues. I was made fully aware of the risks and possibilties. I was able to feel I could trust Dr. Nachwalter very quickly as he described everything. I so appreciate how he took me seriously, didn’t tell me I was just getting old (like the ER doc and the follow up neurologist the next day, prior to seeing Dr. Nachwalter). I appreciated how HE depended on his own interpretation of the films, not someone else’s diagnosis which in my case had been misdiagnosed. I appreciated how he immediately dealt with my issue rather than saying “let’s see what happens in a week or so”. Thank you Dr. Nachwalter! You are the best and greatly appreciated!”

Google Review

“Dr. Nachwalter from the very first visit was respectful, thorough, and forthright. I came to see Dr. Nachwalter from a workers comp issue and I traveled from South Plainfield. What a pleasant surprise to have ended up at his office. His staff is always professional and flexible. I had the surgery with him at the very best and cleanest Morristown Medical Center. If you have back pain don’t suffer any longer go to his office and make the first step and see for yourself.”

Anthony P.

“Dr. Nachwalter is the first workman’s comp doctor that has actually treated me as a patient. Great bedside manners and informative. He has already preformed 1 surgery with excellent results.”

Google Review

“I highly recommend Dr. Nachwalter, in fact I already have to a friend who has had issues with her back for years. He answered all my questions, did a tremendous job and understood my goals.”

Mark D.

“Due to a worker’s compensation claim from a injury in a motor vehicle accident, I was referred to Dr. Nachwalter in January 2016. He was very knowledgeable and understanding about my severe lower back injury. After months of going through protocol with various tests and being in a significant amount of back pain, he had no other choice but to proceed with a spinal fusion and disc replacement in July 2016. Now, almost 3 months post op, my pain is gone. I would highly recommend Dr. Nachwalter!!”

Michael I.

“Excellent surgeon, My pain level had gone down immediately after surgery, I feel much better after having surgery.”

Healthgrades.com User

“I had a spinal fusion and laminectomy. Wish I got the surgery sooner. No complaints at all. I would definitely go to Dr. Nachwalter for back surgery, the man knows his stuff!”

RateMDs.com user

“I had a car accident in 2012 and, amongst other injuries, broke two vertebrae. Fortunately for me, Dr. Nachwalter was the doctor on call and did my five and a half hour surgery. I am walking and dancing again – in no small part thanks to him. He was polite and courteous – as were his staff. I would have no hesitation recommending him to others!”

Robert

“My wife was injured at work and unfortunately had to visit a Workers Comp MD who was the gatekeeper. While that MD was a phony, Dr. Nachwalter was fantastic. He exudes confidence in his bedside manner. Wife is feeling much better after surgery. Thank you to a great doctor!”
-Vitals.com user

Robert

“I would like to start this letter by thanking each and every one of you from the bottom of my heart. Almost ten months ago, we sought Dr. Nachwalter’s opinion and guidance regarding our son Gabriel’s chronic pain as a result of a bilateral stress fracture at L5. He had succumbed to taking pain medication several times a day as well as sleeping with a heating pad, all while halting any kind of activity beyond walking. Cheryl and I felt as though our then -12 year-old son would never lead a normal, active life as he had prior to his injury.

But Dr. Nachwalter’s consultations, unparalleled knowledge of the anatomy (and the spine, of course), and openness to novel approaches to surgery, gave us hope for Gabriel. And on November 24, 2015, the Tuesday before Thanksgiving, we met Dr. Nachwalter at Morristown Memorial Hospital where, with the assistance of an incredibly professional and experienced team, he literally worked his magic…for a second time in our family.

I say second time because eleven years ago, with my wife, Cheryl, in excruciating pain as a result of two bulging herniations in a similar location to Gabriel’s fracture, Dr. Nachwalter performed a discectomy and laminectomy on her that allowed Cheryl to resume a normal life, as a doting mother of three toddlers, almost immediately. His precise and accurate hands truly gave my wife a renewed optimism on life and allowed her to focus on her children and family, as opposed to incessant pain and concern about her own wellbeing.

And so this past Thursday, May 26, 2016, Gabriel, Cheryl and I walked into the examination room at Atlantic Spine Specialists, six months and two days post-op, to hear the final verdict regarding the pars repair Dr. Nachwalter had performed on our now-thirteen year-old son. After reviewing the latest x-ray taken minutes prior, Dr. Nachwalter provided those words we and, more than anyone, Gabriel himself had been waiting to hear: that he could resume life as a normal adolescent. I will never in my life forget the smile that came across my son’s face – to which we owe Dr. Nachwalter. The surgery was a success…not that I ever doubted for a minute it would be given a surgeon with his skill and attention to every single detail performed it.

Since Thursday, Gabriel and I have gone for a run as well as a bike ride, and he has raced his younger brother Alex down the water slide at a local pool as if nothing ever happened to him and he hadn’t lived through over a year of chronic and severe pain and discomfort.

I can’t thank you enough for having given two people, who matter so much to me and have so much life to live, their lives back. I am forever more grateful than you know and forever in your debt. You all made the unnerving and lengthy experience that much more tolerable with your kindness in the office during our multiple visits and adeptness in the operating room.

Thank you very, very, very, very much for everything.

Yours in health,”

Victor

“I was in such pain I couldn’t sit, bend or sleep. Getting in & out of the car was the worst. The herniated disc along with the sciatic pain was excruciating. After an X-ray & MRI, Dr. Nachwalter diagnosed the issue and promptly took care of it through surgery. The office staff is highly efficient. Never waited more than 5 minutes to be seen. And didn’t need any pain killers after surgery & am pain free. I am so grateful. Thank you.”

HealthGrades.com user

“After being in a car accident 7 years ago and having numerous injections, Dr. Nachwalter was able to give me a solution. When I first saw him, I was not in tremendous pain, so I decided not to do surgery. He did not pressure me one way or another. However, after 6 months the pain returned and I was unable to avoid surgery. The staff and he were extremely helpful in explaining what was to take place. I am now recovering and I can’t believe I waited so long. The only pain I have left is from the surgery, which diminishes every day!”

RateMDs.com user

“I met Doctor Nachwalter through a worker’s comp case upon my first visit with him. He and his staff projected nothing but the absolute epitome of professionalism. Doctor Nachwalter found that I had been walking around with a fractured spine for three years, something several other doctors overlooked. Doctor Nachwalter performed a fusion surgery on me on 8/18/2017 and not even a month after the surgery I am able to walk and stand with out fear and pain for the first time in three years. Thank you.”

Vitals.com user

“Knew exactly what was wrong and fixed it right away.”

RateMDs.com user

“Dr.Nachwalter is a great doctor and helped me tremendously to get back to my regular lifestyle.”

Vitals.com user

“Dr. Nachwalter was straight forward with diagnoses and options for successful pain relief from lumbar cyst. Surgery went well with no more nerve pain down leg.”

Healthgrades.com user

“He takes his time to thoroughly explain all information about diagnosis, treatment and procedures, and answers all questions for both patients and family members.”

Kim T.

“Dr. Nachwalter performed my emergency discectomy/laminectomy 11 years ago with excellent results and we returned to him for my young son who needed a complicated surgery (bilateral pars defect repair) in November. He is incredibly knowledgable, compassionate and patient. He answers any questions and concerns you may have. He went out of his way to make sure we understood the surgery for our son and the long recovery process. The results have been excellent thus far and we couldn’t be happier. We feel very fortunate to have found Dr. Nachwalter. His staff is always accommodating and helpful especially when it comes to navigating complicated insurance issues. Dr. Nachwalter is truly an outstanding surgeon.”

CL

“Went to Dr. Nachwalter based on recommendations I found online. He was challenged by my condition and responded beautifully. He was detailed when informing me what needed to be done, recovery time, long term outlook, etc. I am now completely free of pain and my recovery is going exactly like Dr. Nachwalter described it would. I am currently six weeks after surgery, pain free and moving very well. I would recommend Dr. Nachwalter to anyone experiencing issues with their spine.”

RateMDs.com User

“Very much to the point. Proceeded with my issues in a timely manner. Completed what needed to be done with zero complications.”

Chris, Healthgrades.com User

“I had a laminectomy 6 weeks ago and have no more pain. The Doctor was very good at answering my questions and seeing that I was comfortable with everything that was going to happen and understood my goals. I highly recommend Dr. Nachwalter.”

RateMDs.com User

“I had a spinal fusion and laminectomy, within 2 weeks I felt amazing! This doctor knows his stuff. I would highly recommend visiting him if you are in extreme pain and no other alternatives are working.”

Google User

”I had back trouble for 8 years and tried everything. I went to see Dr. Nachwalter and we determined that surgery may be the answer. He was very honest about the level of improvement that I could expect. His knowledge of the most current trends in his field showed he clearly kept up with the latest improvements and he knew all the statistics on effectiveness of treatment. The resuIts were better than I expected. I was dancing at my son’s wedding 4 weeks and on a European cruise 6 weeks after.”

RateMDs.com User

”For the first time in 10 years there was no pain in my leg.

For the last 10 years I have lived with horrible pain in my right leg caused by a broken vertebrae that pinched my nerve. I was advised by many people, family members, Chiropractor, co-workers not to have back surgery because it was too dangerous. On a more recent consultation with an Orthopedic surgeon who specializes in joint replacement he recommended I see Dr. Nachwalter at Atlantic Spine Specialists in Morristown NJ.

Dr. Nachwalter recommended several options other than surgery that would provide temporary relief before trying surgery. We evaluated all other options, and ultimately decided surgery would be the most effective option. Dr. Nachwalter walked me through the entire process from the procedure to the down time I would need to recover. At one point I had an issue with getting my insurance to approve my surgery. Dr. Nachwalter who was on vacation at the time personally called the insurance company and straightened everything out. Dr. Nachwalter the day of surgery came to see me in the holding area to make sure I was ready which was important to me as I had some anxiety about the surgery. When I woke up in recovery I had pain from the incision, but the pain in my leg was gone. I couldn’t believe it for the first time in 10 years there was no pain in my leg.

It has been 3 weeks since the surgery, and I just had my first follow up visit. Dr. Nachwalter took x-rays in his office, which was very convenient not having to go somewhere else to have that done. He showed me exactly what he did during surgery, and really helped me understand what I was looking at on the x-ray. Still to this day there is no pain in my leg (just from the surgery) and that is getting better each day.

Dr. Nachwalter gave me my life back. I can’t wait to start running like I did 10 years ago.

The staff at Atlantic spine is A+ as well. I’m a worry wart and found myself calling the office to ask questions leading up to the surgery. They never made me feel like I was a pest, and it made me feel good through the whole process.”

Joseph O.

“After 4 years of back and sciatic pain, I decided to finally get surgery at age 37. After doing my due diligence and visiting over 10 surgeons in both New Jersey and Manhattan, I felt confident that Dr Nachwalter was my surgeon of choice. Not only did I find Dr Nachwalter to be professional, confident and come highly recommended, I liked his honesty the most. He is not the “rush to surgery” type of surgeon. After a few consolations and diagnostic shots, we collectively came to the conclusion that I was in fact a candidate for surgery. He was upfront and honest as to what my expectations should be from the surgery. On April 25th, I had a laminectomy performed by Dr Nachwalter. I am still in my infancy of recovery. However, I must say that I am beyond satisfied so far. Everything Dr Nachwalter told me to expect has been spot on. The surgery was performed on time and went exactly as he described. The follow up from both him and his office has been second to none. I would highly recommend anyone considering back surgery to visit Dr Nachwalter.

RateMDs.com User

“I went to Dr. Nachwalter for a workman’s comp. case. Initially, I was sent to a different doctor for the same injury . Although both doctors agreed that I required surgery, Dr. Nachwalter advised me to have my surgery in the hospital instead of a “surgi” center. This was because of a few factors that the first surgeon didn’t pick up on. The level of competence, knowledge and experience is definitely a step up with Dr. Nachwalter. He was extremely frank and honest, discussed the pros, cons and risks associated with my surgery. I felt extremely comfortable in his hands and that he really cared for his patients. Post op, I had a few concerns and contacted him via his answering service. Not only did he not seem bothered or irritated, he encouraged me to contact him if I had any further concerns. I would highly recommend him to my friends and family.

RateMDs.com User

“My wife was injured at work and unfortunately had to visit a Workers Comp MD who was the gatekeeper. While that MD was a phony, Dr. Nachwalter was fantastic. He exudes confidence in his bedside manner. Wife is feeling much better after surgery. Thank you to a great doctor!”

Vitals.com user

“Doctor Nachwalter is great. He is highly qualified and very compassionate. After a year of pain he gave me my life back. I trusted him completely and he didn’t let me down. All doctors should be like him.”

Karin

“When we first walked into the office to meet Dr. Nachwalter we were a little skeptical. He seemed to be a little rough around the edges and not too compassionate. I was in so much pain I could not do anything! Upon my second visit it was a whole new Dr.! He was so understanding and when he saw my MRI he immediately scheduled surgery and did it on a day he normally didn’t even work! My pain was immediately relieved and I feel great now! He has been great! He is highly recommended by myself and my family! Thank you Dr. Nachwalter I am forever in your debt!”

Vitals.com user

“Dr. Nachwalter is wonderful!! When my husband had sciatica, he was able to quickly diagnose the problem. He clearly explained the issue and how he would treat it. His billing assistant Lilly jumped through hoops for us and was able to get the surgery approved without all the ¨conservative treatment¨ the doctor knew would not help. The surgery was a success, and the sciatica was cured. Dr. Nachwalter visited every day, answered all our questions and was a pleasure to work with.”

Healthgrades.com user

“Excellent, would recommend to anyone who needs help.”

Troy P.

“After months of being abused by New Jersey workers comp and orthopedics, I was recommended to Dr. Richard Nachwalter. He listened, he evaluated and relieved my pain and suffering within a week. God bless you for your expertise and professionalism. Thank you.”

HealthGrades.com user

“When I went to Dr Nachwalter, I was in so much pain. He is a friendly doctor. My surgery went great, now just recovering. No more pain, thanks to Dr. Nachwalter. I can walk without shooting pain down my leg or side hurting. He is a great doctor”

Ratemds.com user

“I was recently diagnosed with a severely herniated disc in my L5 /S1 Lumbar. I was in excruciating pain down my entire left leg and unable to stand or sit. Dr Nachwalter performed a micro-discectomy within a few days of seeing my MRI results. Within minutes after the procedure in the recovery room, the pain in my left leg was completely gone! I would recommend Dr Nachwalter without hesitation.”

RateMDs.com user

“Hi.I’m very happy to share my experience with a great surgeon in Dr. Richard Nachwalter. He performed an L3 L4 microdiscectomy on my lower back, and I have to say I am very impressed. I was up walking around my room the very next day. He is also a very caring person outside of work. He paid a visit to me the next day to see how I felt and to offer me an extended stay if I felt I needed it. Dr. Nachwalter also has an excellent staff always treating me and my family with a warm welcome recommended A+++++????”

Bradley P.

“I had spinal surgery, and I’m doing quite well.”

Cheryl S.

Amy’s Testimonial

Virginia’s Testimonial

Larry’s Testimonial